Amazon knows its customers are more likely to buy a product recommended by a trusted and authoritative source. This is apparent with offerings such as “frequently bought together” and “suggested for you” lists; in fact, Amazon SEO (search engine optimization) credits 35% of its sales to this strategic power of suggestion. Now, the platform has introduced another on-page element for suggestions: Amazon editorial recommendations.
What Are Amazon Editorial Recommendations?
Editorial recommendations are articles written by high-authority publishers who are members of the Onsite Associates Program, featured on the first page of Amazon search results for relevant keyword searches. Distinct from organic rankings, PPC sponsored results, and brand advertisements—editorial recommendations are a new and effective way for sellers to increase their traffic, sales and brand reputation.
Amazon search results can usually be divided into four categories:
- Organic results
- Sponsored posts
- Brand Ads
- Editorial recommendations
This is what an editorial recommendations article for the term “bully sticks” looks like:
As you can see, this article takes up a sizable chunk of real estate on the search results page. This editorial centered around the keyword search term “bully sticks” and adds a specific qualifier to each of the featured products, like “Best for Puppies” or “Best for Large Breeds,” making the distinction between all the featured products very clear. Shoppers interested in finding out more can read the full article on the left-hand side to get a complete and in-depth review.
What Are the Benefits of Amazon Editorial Recommendations?
Overall, editorial recommendations can:
- Increase sales and clickthrough rates through increased search visibility
- Increase PPC efficiencies;
- Increase product organic rank;
- Increase SEO performance
- Instill trust in consumers;
For these reasons, brands must take advantage of this relatively unknown advertising strategy.
Amazon Editorial Recommendations Increase Search Visibility and Sales
By adding editorial recommendations to your marketing strategy, you’re not only increasing the odds of your products being seen, but you’re also increasing the probability of a shopper buying your product as well!
Remember, there’s potentially four places your product can appear:
- Paid Ads (PPC)
- Brand Ads
- Organic listing
- Editorial Recommendations
Looking again at the search term results for ‘bully sticks,” we found 3 out of 4 potential visibility opportunities for the brand, Best Bully Sticks,.at the time we did this search.
That’s a lot of real estate and will absolutely impact several metrics, including impressions, clicks, CTR, and sales… not to mention building massive brand awareness.
With sales probably being the most focused-on metric, we’ve seen some meteoric results, one example being with a simple latte foam maker product that also had a first-mover advantage.
The article was generating around 10,000 impressions and 1,000 clicks per day for many of its primary search terms during its peak. With this kind of exposure, the brand achieved over $10,000 per day jump in revenue, hitting a milestone of $12,000 per day, with an increase in CTR and conversion rates for paid ads.
Here’s another example showing off the power of editorial recommendations.
After this feature article by SheKnows, one of the featured vacuum storage bag products saw an estimated increase in daily traffic of 5,000 impressions and 500 clicks for their target keyword “vacuum storage,” among other primary search terms.
And what about sales? They exploded.
The numbers went up from $700 per day to over $1,200 per day, including editorial, organic, and PPC sales, with an increase in CTR and conversion rates for the product, giving it more organic juice and a healthy BSR boost.
In this case, one of our favorite metrics was the jump in paid search, which was negative before the editorial placement, to positive returns almost instantly and at scale!
So editorial recommendations can not only boost your organic search visibility, it can improve ad results as well!
Amazon Editorial Recommendations Increase PPC Efficiency
Editorial recommendations provide a monthly advertising cost of sales (ACOS) of close to 10%.
Advertising Cost of Sales (ACoS) = How much you paid in ads to get one sale/revenue
Example: You paid $20 in ads to sell $100 worth of product = ACoS of 20%.
With editorial recommendations, the prREACH pricing model is simple. Compared to the ACoS of PPC Ads, editorial recommendations are incredibly inexpensive. A very good ACoS for many sellers would be 20 – 30%, whereas 10% is practically unheard of!
And the best part—you pay only for the sales that occur through our articles! This way, sellers can boost their visibility and increase their monthly traffic without spending even more on PPC Ads (a huge win!).
Amazon Editorial Recommendations Increase Organic Listing Rank
As we know, the more action and sales Amazon sees on your listing, the higher your organic rankings climb up. Due to the increase in click-through rate, sales, and search visibility garnered by an editorial recommendation, you’re generally going to see your organic listing rank improve on Amazon., sometimes significantly.
Amazon Editorial Recommendations Increase Product SEO
With editorial recommendations, you’ll normally see an increase in rankings not only on Amazon but frequently off Amazon as well, on third-party search engines like Google, Bing and DuckDuckGo.
Onsite Amazon publishers primarily run their content publishing empires off of Amazon, so many of the editorials they write for Amazon also appear on their websites. Having your article in a high-authority site gives your product some SEO and traffic love as you start showing up in online search results for your relevant terms.
This article from “sheknows” was placed not only within the Amazon ecosystem as an editorial, but it was also featured on its website.
Amazon Editorial Recommendations Increases Customer Trust
We all know that smart shoppers rely on customer reviews and social proof, doing their research before making a purchase. With editorial recommendations published by independent, trusted third-party websites, products are already pre-vetted with the information at shoppers’ fingertips right at the top of search results, making the process faster and more reliable.
Who Should Use Amazon Editorial Recommendations?
The editorial recommendations program offers benefits for virtually any seller with a range of high-quality, high-performing products. However, this program is definitely not appropriate for beginners who need help launching their first product on Amazon.
For an Amazon product to be picked up by a publisher, it should meet these general requirements:
- Have at least 100 reviews
- Have a minimum 3.8 -star rating
- Fall into the top 20% of the Best Seller Ranking for its category
- Seller account earning at least $20 – 30k in monthly sales
- No medical claims; not related to sex, drugs or religion
As you may have noticed, the editorial recommendations service is best suited for products that are already performing well and have a high customer satisfaction rate.
How Do Amazon Editorial Recommendations Work?
By signing up with an Amazon editorial recommendations agency like prREACH, we pair your product with a niche-appropriate publisher to get an article written about your product.
The onsite publishing group currently comprises over 200 high-authority publishers ranging from magazines to blogs and is growing every day. At prREACH, we work with media and publishers from across the spectrum daily, and with editorial recommendations, we’re doing the same thing for Amazon sellers, but just within Amazon itself.
We act as your public relations agency, ensuring that your product gets matched with the best publisher to write your high-quality article that maintains or increases your brand reputation, along with all the other benefits that editorials provide. In fact, prREACH is the only true PR firm working within the Amazon Editorial Recommendations program.
Once your article is written, it’s sent to Amazon for approval and publication.
How Many Products Does an Editorial Recommendations Article Promote?
We’ve seen up to four products, but more typically three to five, with a maximum of three being visible. If there’s more than three, shoppers must scroll over to see them. As your agency, our job is to get you ranking for relevant keywords on articles that appear in the first three spots.
One important thing to note is that a single keyword can have up to five articles having their own featured products. Amazon will rotate through the articles and test their performance (don’t worry, we provide reporting, so you’ll know how much Share-of-Voice your article is receiving and for what keywords).
Editorials have their own algorithm that will show specific articles to specific shoppers based on their location and past browsing and purchase history.
Therefore, it’s entirely possible for your article to be published without you ever coming across that article yourself!
How Much Do Amazon Editorial Recommendations Cost?
Here’s the good news:.editorial recommendations are a great marketing channel for sellers, coming in at a fraction of the cost of PPC advertising!
You submit a one-time curation fee of $1,500 per ASIN (paid only once, valid for your entire term with our agency). This is an upfront fee that we charge for the efforts undertaken to match your product with a publisher through our network, have them write the article and then submit it for approval to Amazon.
Tip: We can place multiple articles published for the same ASIN but covering numerous keyword sets, and because the pricing is per ASIN, you don’t pay the one-time curation fee for each subsequent article, helping you dominate your primary keyword search results!
Once the article is published, you pay monthly fees of:
$125 + 10% of Gross Merchandise Value (GMV). That’s sales attributed only to editorial recommendation articles.
Does Amazon Editorial Recommendations Have Performance Tracking?
Yes! By signing up with prREACH’s amazon editorial recommendation service, you’ll have access to a dashboard that will provide you with three different reports.
This report helps you review all sales attributed to our editorial recommendations articles.
This section shows you a list of all the articles published for your product.
To round things off, we also provide a Share-of-voice (SOV) dashboard which reports real-time keyword intel, letting you know which keywords are winning against Amazon keywords.
How Can Brands Get Featured in an Editorial Recommendation?
The process of getting started with editorial recommendations through prREACH is incredibly easy:
- Fill out our intake form.
- Sign our agreement.
- Pay the $1,500 curation fee (fully refundable if we cannot get you published)
And that’s it! Typically, we need a minimum of 6-8 weeks for Amazon.com to write, approve and get an article published (4-6 weeks for amazon.co.uk). Your monthly fee kicks in only after publication.
Still have questions about Editorial Recommendations or UK Recommended Articles? Check out our website and FAQs for further details at https://er.prreach.com/amazon-editorial-recommendations.